• Product 3 of 5

Sun Of The Sleepless - To The Elements Vinyl Gatefold LP (black)

2017-07-21 Item #: WOLF 073 LP
  • Description
  • Details


Sun Of The Sleepless is the solo project of Schwadorf (aka Markus Stock), the mastermind behind two of Prophecy Productions' most popular acts, Empyrium and The Vision Bleak. The band creates poetic black metal dirges that twist with cold, raw atmospheres. Despite its formation in 1998, "To the Elements" is Sun Of The Sleepless' full-length debut, following its split EP with Nachtmahr (2004), the band's debut EP "Poems to the Wretches Hearts" (1999) and the coveted 7" "Tausend Kalte Winter" released in 2000, which featured a trip hop take on the Darkthrone classic "En As I Dype Skogen"(!).

Now, 13 years later, Sun Of The Sleepless rises from the grave to deliver a startling album of new material! With "To the Elements", Schwadorf creates songs that brim with aura and mood, building on the foundation that was laid with SoTS' previous works while injecting an entirely new level of intensity and incandescence. Described by its creator as "A fist in the face of a shallow world!" the record's icy cold black metal holds a doom-laden edge warmed only by poetic lyrics inspired by great romantic writers of the ages.

Tracks such as the searing "In the Realm of the Bark", the darkened "Phoenix Rise" and the haunting "Where in My Childhood Lived a Witch" are indelible fortresses of frost calling for comparison to stylistic stalwarts such as Emperor, Darkthrone, early Ulver or Katatonia, brought to life anew with an original touch. Sun Of The Sleepless has returned and the world is on warning!

"To The Elements" is available as Digipak CD (with 12-pages booklet), Gatefold LP (on black and strictly limited silver vinyl) and as a collector's 2CD box (feat. Digipak CD, the out-of-print 1999 MCD "Poems To The Wretches Hearts" in a cardsleeve, a patch and an autographed/handnumbered certificate in a hotfoil-embossed box). Additionally available from Sun Of The Sleepless: "Shadows Of The Past", a vinyl compilation featuring all recordings from 1998-2004 (available of black and strictly limited gold vinyl).

- Gatefold LP (black 180g vinyl) incl. protection sleeve (350 copies available)

1. The Burden
2. Motions
3. The Owl
4. Where In My Childhood Lived A Witch
5. Forest Crown
6. The Realm Of The Bark
7. Phoenix Rise


release date
Lupus Lounge
Sun Of The Sleepless
To The Elements
Vinyl Gatefold LP

* plus shipping

The crossed out prices are the previous prize at Prophecy US.

Prophecy: Music and identity since 1996.
From 1996 on when we put out our first release, Prophecy has represented identity-establishing music and high-quality product design.